Monday, July 30, 2012

MSMD NOTD Before & After: Shadow Houndstooth

Hello!!!

A while back, I saw a double-stamped houndstooth manicure that I love, done by A Girl And Her Polish; the houndstooth pattern is stamped twice, so it looks kind of like it has a shadow. I thought it was so pretty, and had to try it out for my Monkey-See-Monkey-Do Monday manicure...you can see the original post by clicking here.

I started with a base of China Glaze's Tree Hugger, which I wore for a day:

China Glaze Tree Hugger in the sun


Then, to make the shadowed houndstooth design, I stamped over it first using Ulta Army Of One, and then again using China Glaze Holly Day. I used the pattern on plate Bundle Monster plate BM322. Here is how it came out:









As you can see, some nails came out better than others. I think I got the best effect on the middle finger and the pinkie finger...it's harder than it looks to line these up! If you try to do this look, leave yourself time to makes some mistakes and re-do your nails. I tried the layer-of-topcoat-below-the-stamping trick, and I still had to completely redo a few nails.

All in all, I like this look. Houndstooth is nice on its own, but I really love the depth this double-stamping brings to it. I'll certainly try this again, especially with different color palates--how cool would this look with black, white and red??

Thanks for looking, and please check out the other MSMD manicures, linked below. :)

M.


Debbie at The Crumpet - http://thecrumpet.blogspot.co.uk
Missy @ Gnarly Gnails - http://gnarlygnails.blogspot.com
Nayade at Toxic Vanity - http://www.toxicvanity.com
Alyssa at Fancy Phalanges - http://fancyphalanges.blogspot.com/
Misha @ Enigmatic Rambles: www.enigmatic-rambles.blogspot.com
Carrie @ LeSamowen:Life, Love, and Nail Polish: http://lesamowen.blogspot.com/
Basia (or Bazzia) @ polish my mind: http://polishmymind.blogspot.com/
Isabel - Little Fairy: http://isaspinods.blogspot.com/
Stella - My Wet Nails: http://mywetnails.blogspot.com
Michelle-Lacquer Or Leave Her!: http://lacquerorleaveher.blogspot.com
Angi @ Angelina´s Nails & More www.angelinaswelt.blogspot.de/
Kia @ Lacquered Libra  http://lacqueredlibra.blogspot.com/

10 comments:

  1. I love it!! What amazing green shades you got there.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! Take a look again, the text is there now. This time I checked the post right after the scheduled posting time to make sure I fixed it if the text didn't show again, lol. :)

      Delete
  2. Really Pretty! Love these greens!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I really have a think for greens right now. :)

      Delete
  3. Beautiful I like green polishes :)

    ReplyDelete

Make my day--leave me a comment!